Reflecting on the media

Time flies when you’re having fun, an appropriate phrase, for a subject such as this. I must say that BCM110 has been by far my most favoured subject; it kept me interested and craving for more. Through this journey I have deepened my understanding of media and its effects on society and myself, although I had a brief understanding on the topic I wasn’t truly aware of the effect of the media’s coverage control has over us, my new-found knowledge of the concentration of the media ownership has made me more critical when reading articles or watching news. As for blogging, I have always considered it but never thought I would actually be able to, this helped me find my voice and force it into printed words bare and naked for the world to see. Through the weeks I have realised that media has especially built it focus on the portrayal of children in the media and the influence they have on their impressionable minds and the general viewers.

10-year-old Thylane Loubry Blondeau appearance in French Vogue magazine in 2011 triggered a great debate amongst the general public and government regarding the sexualisation of children in the media. The main argument constantly being thrown around being, ‘children are growing up to fast’. It was constantly being said that magazines were equalising children and portraying them in and making you look at them in a very adult way, Loubry’s mother fought back by saying” my daughter is not even naked, lets not exaggerate”.  In saying this give anyone an image and tell them to look at it a certain way and they will. Paul Miller, associate professor of psychology at Arizona State University in Phoenix says that “research clearly shows that the fashion industry affects girls and women’s images of themselves and their self-esteem if they do not meet the industry ‘image’ that is currently in vogue,” this can also be said about celebrities especially those transitioning from child start into adult such as Miley Cyrus.

The once Disney star Miley Cyrus is constantly being shown in the new for one reason or another. People (especially parents) are constantly throwing accusations at her saying that she is being a bad role model. To this Miley states that she never claimed to be a role model and she represents the rare group of girls who simply don’t care what others thinks and view that as something she is proud of and will stand by’. Although her actions may have gained a lot of negative feedback she is definitely no longer seen as a child! Mission accomplished! In my opinion although media may be impressionable in some ways I disagree that we should wholly blame it for our actions. No one is being forced into being a certain way. In the end it comes down to the parenting and morals that have been instilled into us.

 

Reference

Moisse, K 2011, 10-Year-Old Model’s Grown-Up Look: High Fashion or High Risk?, viewed 13th aprilhttp://abcnews.go.com/Health/w_MindBodyResource/10-year-models-grown-high-fashion-high-risk/story?id=14221160

 

Leave a Reply

