Apple v Samsung

Concerning this week’s topic of ‘I love gadgets’ I decided that I would do something a little different in comparison to other podcasts, in order to explore what I could with technology and the creativity it would allow me to exploit.

I have decided that I would do a short cover of the song ‘anything you can do’ sung by Betty Hutton and Howard Keel. The cover feature lyrics written by me and are compiled in a way that would feature apple and Samsung arguing over who is best in computerised voices! enjoy πŸ™‚


There’s no doubt that Apple phones are one of the biggest sellers in the world, although this does not diminish the ongoing battle between Apple and Android users.

The battle goes far deeper than simple aesthetics, one of the main differences to be pointed out first is the smart phones interface. While the iPhone runs on the iOS and has a simplistic fixed layout that allows users to interact with ease, Samsung allows total customisation that cannot be achieved with the iPhone unless one jailbreaks it. To some this customisation is an important aspect as it allows them to personalize their phones layout to their liking, to others it over complicates the system and represents a cluttered distraction.

Regardless of the constant argument over which phone is ‘better’ at the end of it all they both do the same thing. They both make calls, send messages, takes photos and anything else one would look for in a smart phone. It all comes down to personal preferences, an aspect this ongoing battle seems to ignore time and time again as we are blinded by our loyalty to the brand. I for one as an iPhone, during this week have found multiple faults in the Apple product, possible as many as I find in android products. This left me with the question, ‘does it really matter which is best?’

Zeman, E 2015, InformationWeek iPhone vs. Android,Β 23rd July, viewed 23rd march 2016
<http://www.informationweek.com/mobile/mobile-devices/iphone-vs-android-apples-success-only-goes-so-far/a/d-id/1321437&gt;

6 thoughts on “Apple v Samsung

  1. typatt says:

    Chrissy,
    Incredibly clever and very well written. I could see this being in a big time commercial someday. Better get your copyright on it! πŸ˜‰

  2. PecknationWorldwide says:

    Loved this! Straight away understood it was a cover of the famous song “Anything You Can Do”. So enjoyable and I love the back and forth ribbing between iPhone and Android. This had great information in this piece and being an Apple user I’ve now learnt a few things about the Androids that I didn’t know beforehand. Truly awesome, keep it up! πŸ™‚

  3. jaclynbarlow says:

    Chrissy this is absolutely brilliant! I was laughing so much, way too clever! Cannot even imagine how much effort you put into this! Well done πŸ™‚ Maybe a little more explanation of the topic in your accompanying text could have linked back to the content of the week a little more but honestly I think you have won blog post of the week!

  4. RADIC says:

    This is amazing and out of the box.
    It weird to hear how both sides stack up against each other, but making it in a fun way really brings out the message
    Great job πŸ™‚

  5. rubyqian says:

    Your creation is so amusing and inspiring! I was always wondering how can one create a soundtrack that is intriguing? I think you have made it! I can’t help laughing all the time. The way two brand talk is geeky but lively. You have applied your own understanding and using experience of the two brand into the track so many features mentioned in the dialogue is resonant. Personally, I love the last half part of the track which makes fun of the apple’s short life battery the most . Can’t stand the weak battery any more! If there have to be any advice, I think some illustration of written word can be added to better summarise and compare the features of two brands. I have to admit this is the best soundtrack I’ve ever met. So inspiring and Creative. Can’t wait to see more of your work of art! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

