Annotated bibliography

  1. The power of social media – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAwjeu4Y5h4

    In this video Daryl D’Souza talks about the power of defining and communicating a brand through social media. Even although my artefacts purpose is not with business it still helped me understand how to use social media to communicate and engage with a wider audience and create relationships with readers. D’Souza emphasises the potential of using real-time communication to reach a wider audience and meet the expectations of an audience.

    His talk also brings to light the importance of keeping an identity that works for you, rather than changing to ‘become all things to all people.’

 

  1. Faces of UOW – https://www.facebook.com/facesofuow

    ‘Faces of UOW’ was my initial inspiration on what I was going to be focusing my digital artefact on and helped me redevelop my initial idea. Reading over their interviews and blog helped me understand how I wanted my digital artefact ‘places of UOW’ to be set out. Although my artefact will not exactly be able to be set out the same way (i.e. interviews) and the page didn’t help me in creating stories it did give me a rough outline of what I want it to be like.

 

  1. Transmedia storytelling – Henry Jenkins http://henryjenkins.org/2007/03/transmedia_storytelling_101.html

    Henry Jenkins offers an interesting insight into the effective distribution of content. The information and work in ‘transmedia storytelling 101’ is important to my digital artefact as I am considering using more than one platform in order to communicate my messages and reach my audience.

    Jenkins explains that Transmedia storytelling “… represents a process where integral elements of a fiction get dispersed systematically across multiple delivery channels for the purpose of creating a unified entertainment experience.” His work is a good starting point for me to build the foundations of my digital artefact on and will help me using and selecting the appropriate channels that will most benefit my project and learning experience.

 

  1. Humans of New York – http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

    Like the Faces of UOW Facebook page, the Humans of New York blog is another example and baseline of the type of channel I wish to emulate. They both feature characters and interesting stories accompanied by photographs of their topic. Through reading their stories and researching how they set out their stories I have been able to get a better understanding of how I am to go about my artefact.

    Through using this website as a reference point for my digital artefact I will be able to stay on topic.

 

  1. Web writing 101 – http://www.writerstreasure.com/web-writing-101/

    This source provides a number of tips and information on creative writing and developing creative ideas. Although I am not looking to write a novel, I am looking to develop compelling and relatable stories in which my audience can engage with.

    Web readers have short attention spans so it is important to make my content more concise. Web readers are usually after specific information so the challenge is keeping them interested part the introduction. This site provides tips on how to write for an online audience by appropriately setting out paragraphs and ensuring the correct language and jargon is used.

 

  1. How to be funny – https://smartblogger.com/how-to-be-funny/

    This article discusses the numerous ways to interact with an audience. It also provides tips on how to keep the audience interested through your writing by incorporating humour throughout your content. This will be extremely relevant to my digital artefact as when I publish posts I will be aiming to have a strong entertainment factor in place, as it will incorporate thoughts all students have had at one point or another but never truly dwelled on them. Using these tips will be able to make my thoughts more relatable to the audience. Using humour will also assist in grabbing the attention of the audience.

 

  1. 52 Tips: How to Market on Instagram – http://blog.wishpond.com/post/59612395517/52-tips-how-to-market-on-instagram

     Although I am not marketing a product or business, in a way I will be marketing my digital artefact so using ideas and tips from this site I will be able to reach a wider audience. I found this article extremely interesting especially since I am a marketing and advertising major, and found it helpful in developing ideas in how to use Instagram to connect and engage with an audience.

    This site also discusses how to integrate multiple channels and the use of hashtags in order to gain a following.

 

  1. The medium is the message – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2dHqdvXsys

    At the beginning of the semester we learnt the concept of ‘the medium is the message,’ this has been important through our entire learning process and even more so in the implementation of our artefacts.

    As it is such an important concept I thought it would be best to brush up on my knowledge in order to truly understand the concept and keep it in mind as I create my posts. It will also have helped me in deciding the platforms I was going to use to communicate my message (Facebook and Instagram).

 

  1. Writing process – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1pnpL8295E

     This source provides interesting and helpful tips in proceeding with the writing process. It discusses tips in how to stay organised, how to plan and how to become more engaged with your subject of interest. As my project will be written based it is important that I both improve my writing skills and stay on top of schedule.

    Although my artefact won’t need as much detail as is shown in the video it still provides a good guideline for me to follow in order to reduce stress and make the overall process much easier.

 

  1. UOW student life – https://www.instagram.com/uowstudentlife/?hl=en

    This was a great source for images of UOW. There is a large range of different sights of UOW shown on their Instagram and although I cannot use these photos, it did present me with ideas of possible locations and objects to photograph for my artefact. The pictures themselves do not pose many details on the location or the story taking place outside from the initial photograph.

    When I post images, I will be describing what the significance of the image is to assist the readers in understanding what I have posted and why.

 

 

Leave a Reply

